KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 9 October 2009.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer), Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

12. Minutes - 3 July 2009 (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 3 July 2009 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

13. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel decided to appoint Mr J Wiggel to the Governing Body of Temple Ewell Primary School instead of Mrs J Olpin as it considered that the School's needs would be best served through the appointment of an LEA Governor who was seen to be best placed to consider them afresh.
- (2) The Panel decided to appoint Mr R Parry to the Governing Body of The Bradbourne School instead of Mrs M Canet as he was the local County Councillor. As such, his nomination received precedence as set in Guideline (j) of the Guidelines for the appointment of LEA Governors.
- (3) The Panel agreed to the appointment of Mrs P Garrard to the Governing Body of St Nicholas CEP School as, although this appointment did not strictly conform to Guideline c (i), she had never actually been a teacher at Harvey Grammar School.
- (4) The Panel appointed Mr W Gardner and Mrs J Coulon to the future Federation of Bodsham and Saltwood CEP Schools in anticipation that it would be set up in November 2009.
- (5) The Panel approved the urgent action taken by the Head of School Governance in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Mr J Farmer to the temporary Governing Body of the new Ellington and Hereson School until the end of the Spring Term in April 2010.
- (6) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 13 of the Minutes refers)

1. CLUSTER: AS1 ASHFORD

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee7041Goldwyn Community Special SchoolMr G Reid

2. CLUSTER: ASHFORD RURAL

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2686Furley Park Primary SchoolMr H Ledger

3. CLUSTER: CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2266Petham Primary SchoolDr A Ellis4534Simon Langton Girls' Grammar SchoolMrs U Fuller5446St Anselm's Catholic SchoolMr H Blows

4. CLUSTER: CANTERBURY COASTAL

DCSF No: School Appointee

5. CLUSTER: CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3029Goudhurst and Kilndown CEP SchoolMrs C Hanlon2135Horsmonden Primary SchoolMr L Grant

6. CLUSTER: DARTFORD EAST

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2062Darenth Community Primary SchoolMrs P Pinner2682New Ash Green Primary SchoolMr A Lush3021Stone St Mary's CEP SchoolMrs P Cole

7. CLUSTER: DARTFORD WEST

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2069St Alban's Road Infant SchoolMrs K Newman2685The Gateway Community Primary SchoolRev K Clarke

8. CLUSTER: DEAL AND SANDWICH

DCSF No: School Appointee

9. CLUSTER: DOVER

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2321	Lydden Primary School	Mr W Pavey
2321	Lydden Primary School	Miss G Stevens
2309	Priory Fields School	Mr S Barber
3175	Sibertswold CEP School at Shepherdswell	Mr M Errington
3177	Temple Ewell CEP School	Mr J Wiggell

10. CLUSTER: GRAVESHAM

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2094	Cobham School	Mr J Jackson
2674	Kings Farm Primary School	Mrs M Cartwright
3903	Raynehurst Primary School	Mr R Bowman
2444	Riverview Junior School	Mr D Hurley
5404	St George's CE School	Mr G Knox
3708	St John's Catholic Primary School	Mr J Lynch
5407	Thamesview School	Mr C Woodley
2519	Vigo Village School	Mrs S Oag

11. CLUSTER: MAIDSTONE 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
5209	Allington Primary School	Mr I Hagger

12. CLUSTER: MC2 (MAIDSTONE)

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3897	Bell Wood Community Primary School	Mr N Morgan
3067	Harrietsham CEP School	Mrs J Whittle
5205	Holy Family RC Primary School	Mr R Pankhurst

13. CLUSTER: MALLING

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2185	Mereworth Community Primary School	Mrs S Barlow
3899	St James the Great Primary & Nursery School	Mrs B Trimmer
3079	Stansted CEP School	Mrs L Mason
2680	King's Hill School	Miss T Cryer

14. CLUSTER: SEVENOAKS SOUTH

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2134	Four Elms Primary School	Mrs G Burtenshaw
3751	St Thomas' Catholic Primary School	Mr M Whiddett
3043	Sundridge and Brasted CEP School	Mrs P Plender
5430	The Bradbourne School	Mr R Parry

15. CLUSTER: SHEPWAY 1

DCSF No: School Appointee

2568 Morehall Primary School Mr M Manton

7043 The Federation of Foxwood and Highview
School Mrs T Kent

16. CLUSTER: SHEPWAY RURAL

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3200Brenzett CEP SchoolMrs G Rowe

3200 Brenzett CEP School Mrs G Rowell 2645 Lydd Primary School Mrs K Hodge 2691 St Nicholas CE Primary School Mrs P Garrard

The Federation of Bodsham and Saltwood

CEP Schools (from November 2009) Mr W Gardner The Federation of Bodsham and Saltwood

CEP Schools (from November 2009) Mrs J Coulon

17. CLUSTER: SWALE RURAL

DCSF No: School Appointee

2435 South Avenue Infant School Mr A Ebetaleye

18. CLUSTER: SWALE URBAN

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2463Minterne Community Junior SchoolMr D Conway

2513 The Oaks Community Infant School Mr D Conway

The Federation of Swale Catholic Primary Schools

Schools Mr J Ward
The Federation of Swale Catholic Primary

Schools Ms S Stark

19. CLUSTER: SWANLEY AND DISTRICT

DCSF No: School Appointee

20. CLUSTER: THANET 1

DCSF No: School Appointee

21. CLUSTER: THANET 2

DCSF No: School Appointee

2338 Dame Janet Community Junior School Mrs D Pullman

22. CLUSTER: TONBRIDGE

DCSF No: School Appointee

23. CLUSTER: TUNBRIDGE WELLS

DCSF No: School Appointee

24. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

DCSF No: PRU Appointee

9003 (Shepway 1) Brook Education Centre

Management Committee Mrs R Rice

09/c&g/gap/100909minutes appendix